Language selection

Search

Celebrating National Indigenous History Month

To commemorate National Indigenous History Month June 2022, the Canada School of Public Service is shining the spotlight on some of the latest products of the Indigenous Learning Team (login may be required). From May 30 to July 1, 2022, check this web page or follow us on Twitter for weekly recommendations of job aids, courses, videos and events of interest.

Learn more about National Indigenous History Month and National Indigenous Peoples Day.

June 2022

Week 5

June 27 – June 30

Theme: Indigenous Youth Sharing Their Stories

This week, the focus is on the power of storytelling in Indigenous cultures, particularly for youth. Take the time to listen to the stories of our Indigenous colleagues.

New job aid

  • First Nations Storytelling

    This educational job aid takes an in-depth look at the First Nations worldview of storytelling. It contains general information on the importance of storytelling within Oral Tradition and how it is sustained and passed on from one generation to the next. Included are resources on the teachings of the Medicine Wheel and the stories of Dr. Reg Crowshoe, a Blackfoot Elder.

New video gallery

  • Indigenous Employee Testimonials

    This video offers short testimonials from First Nations, Inuit, and Métis public service employees. Our colleagues share with us their challenges, their dreams, and their perceptions as Indigenous persons working in the public service today. By listening to their stories, you can contribute to building bridges of understanding.

Newly available on-demand recording

  • Finding Health Equity for First Nations Children

    If you missed this event or want to watch it again, here's your chance. In its 2016 ruling, the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal found that First Nations children were being discriminated against as a result of the inequitable funding of child and family services. In this video, Dr. Cindy Blackstock, Ph.D., Executive Director of the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society of Canada, and Professor Sir Michael Marmot, Director of the International Institute for Society and Health, discuss the pursuit of equity for First Nations children in the context of Jordan's Principle and the Pan American Health Organization's recent report Just Societies: Health Equity and Dignified Lives.

Week 4

June 20 – June 24

Theme: Indigenous History

This week focuses on the impact of colonialism on Indigenous populations in Canada. Explore this enhanced version of our historical timeline and check out our how-to video on territorial acknowledgements.

Enhanced mobile app

  • The Impact of Colonialism on Indigenous Peoples in Canada: A Historical Timeline

    Learning about and understanding our shared history is an important step towards reconciliation.

    This more interactive version of our historical timeline tool explores the history of the relationship between Indigenous Peoples and the Crown in Canada. Exciting new features include themes navigation, saving and sharing information, and knowledge-check questions.

New video

  • Territorial Acknowledgement

    This job aid is a comprehensive presentation of key policies and legislation that have had a significant impact on Indigenous Nations from the time of first contact to the present day. It traces the eras that have shaped the relationship between the Crown and Indigenous Peoples, describing the key players involved and the context in which the laws and policies were developed. Includes a list of key laws and policies and links to them.

Week 3

June 13 – June 17

Theme: The Impacts of the Indian Residential Schools

This week, the focus is on the legacy of residential schools and the impact they have had on Indigenous Peoples, in the past and present.

Newly available on-demand recording

  • Marking the First National Day for Truth and Reconciliation

    If you missed this event or want to watch it again, here's your chance. Hear about the lived experiences of residential school Survivors and contribute to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's call to action number 57, which calls on the government to "provide education to public servants on the history of Aboriginal peoples, including the history and legacy of residential schools, the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Treaties and Aboriginal rights, Indigenous law, and Aboriginal-Crown relations."

New job aid

  • Government Policies and the Impacts on Indigenous Peoples in Canada

    This job aid is a comprehensive presentation of key policies and legislation that have had a significant impact on Indigenous Nations from the time of first contact to the present day. It traces the eras that have shaped the relationship between the Crown and Indigenous Peoples, describing the key players involved and the context in which the laws and policies were developed. Includes a list of key laws and policies and links to them.

New event

  • June 17, 2022: CSPS Virtual Café Series: A Fireside Chat with Dr. Alika Lafontaine

    In this powerful event, Dr. Lafontaine will talk about his experience as the first Indigenous President of the Canadian Medical Association, an institution as old as Canada itself, and how his background and upbringing shaped his professional aspirations. He will also discuss the critical health challenges facing Indigenous Peoples in Canada today. Register today for this event or wait and watch it later on the School's YouTube page (for a limited time).

Week 2

June 6 – June 10

Theme: Environment

This week focuses on the importance of consultation in our work environment. Developing respectful relationships with Indigenous stakeholders and partners is an essential part of our work as public servants.

New job aids

  • Understanding Consultation and Engagement in a Time of Reconciliation

    If you missed this year's Louis Riel Day event or want to watch it again, here's your chance. Learn about the current challenges and opportunities facing Métis communities as they build constructive relationships and support reconciliation efforts with other Indigenous Peoples.

  • The Reconciliation Path

    Be part of the change by getting actively involved in reconciliation! This interactive job aid offers resources and practical ideas on how to be an active participant in the reconciliation process. Learners can track their accomplishments and keep a journal of their progress and objectives. This is an excellent tool if you want to engage meaningfully in reconciliation. Share this tool with your colleagues to multiply your impact.

Newly available event recording

  • Strengthening Relationships with Indigenous Peoples Through the Consultation and Accommodation Process, in partnership with Indigenous Services Canada

    This event brings together spokespersons from Indigenous communities across the country to share their knowledge and insights on how the consultation and accommodation process is important for strengthening the relationships between the Government of Canada and Indigenous peoples. Panellists will discuss how fair and equitable consultation can lead to self-determination for Indigenous communities and help forge strong, lasting and mutually beneficial relationships.

Week 1

May 30 – June 3

Theme: Indigenous Languages and Cultures

This week, the focus is on acknowledging and recognizing the importance of Indigenous languages and cultures in Canada. Check out our new event recordings.

Newly available event recording

  • Celebrating Louis Riel Day: Métis Realities (Video)

    If you missed this year's Louis Riel Day event or want to watch it again, here's your chance. Learn about the current challenges and opportunities facing Métis communities as they build constructive relationships and support reconciliation efforts with other Indigenous Peoples.

Browse the School's full catalogue of events.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Célébrons le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone

Pour célébrer le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone en juin 2022, l'École de la fonction publique du Canada fait la promotion de certaines activités d'apprentissage de son catalogue (une connexion peut être requise) et des plus récents produits élaborés par l'équipe d'apprentissage autochtone. Du 30 mai au 1er juillet 2022, consultez la présente page Web ou suivez-nous sur Twitter pour obtenir chaque semaine des recommandations d'outils de travail, de cours, de vidéos et d'événements intéressants.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone et la Journée nationale des peuples autochtones.

Juin 2022

Semaine 5

27 au 30 juin

Thème : De jeunes autochtones transmettent leurs histoires

Cette semaine, nous mettons l'accent sur le pouvoir du récit dans les cultures autochtones, en particulier pour les jeunes. Prenez le temps d'écouter les histoires de nos collègues autochtones.

Nouvel outil de travail

  • Récits des Premières Nations

    Cet outil de travail éducatif examine la vision du monde transmise dans les récits chez les Premières Nations. Il contient de l'information générale sur l'importance de la tradition orale et sur la manière dont elle est maintenue et transmise d'une génération à l'autre. L'outil comprend des ressources sur les enseignements de la roue de médecine et les récits du Dr Reg Crowshoe, un Aîné pied-noir.

Nouvelle galerie vidéo

  • Témoignages d'employés autochtones

    Cette galerie vidéo offre de courts témoignages de fonctionnaires des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis. Nos collègues nous font part de leurs défis, de leurs rêves et de leurs perceptions en tant qu'Autochtones travaillant dans la fonction publique aujourd'hui. En écoutant leurs histoires, vous contribuez à mieux les comprendre.

Enregistrement sur demande nouvellement offert

  • Inégalités en matière de santé chez les enfants des Premières Nations

    Si vous avez manqué cet événement ou souhaitez le revoir, voici votre chance. Dans sa décision de 2016, le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne a conclu que les enfants des Premières Nations étaient victimes de discrimination en raison du financement inéquitable des services à l'enfance et à la famille. Dans cette vidéo, Cindy Blackstock, Ph. D., directrice générale de la Société de soutien à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations du Canada, et Sir Michael Marmot, directeur de l'Institut international pour la société et la santé, discutent de la quête de l'équité chez les enfants des Premières Nations dans le contexte du principe de Jordan et du récent rapport de l'Organisation panaméricaine de la santé intitulé Sociétés justes : équité en santé et vie digne.

Semaine 4

20 au 24 juin

Thème : Histoire Autochtone

Cette semaine, nous mettons l'accent sur les effets du colonialisme sur les populations autochtones au Canada. Explorez la version actualisée de notre application offrant une trame historique sur le sujet et regardez notre vidéo explicative sur les reconnaissances territoriales.

Application mobile améliorée

  • Les répercussions du colonialisme sur les peuples autochtones au Canada : une trame historique

    Connaître et comprendre notre histoire commune est une étape importante vers la réconciliation.

    Cette version plus interactive de notre trame historique explore l'histoire de la relation entre les peuples autochtones et la Couronne au Canada. Elle comprend aussi de nouvelles fonctionnalités intéressantes, comme la navigation par thèmes et des questions de vérification des connaissances.

Nouvelle vidéo

  • Reconnaissance territoriale

    Dans cette courte vidéo informative, vous découvrirez la signification de la reconnaissance territoriale et la façon d'effectuer ce rituel unificateur.

Semaine 3

13 au 17 juin

Thème : Séquelles des pensionnats indiens

Cette semaine, nous mettons l'accent sur l'héritage des pensionnats et les répercussions qu'ils ont entraînées sur les peuples autochtones, hier et aujourd'hui.

Enregistrement sur demande nouvellement offert

  • Souligner la Journée nationale pour la vérité et la réconciliation

    Si vous avez manqué cet événement ou souhaitez le revoir, voici votre chance. Découvrez les expériences vécues par les survivants des pensionnats et contribuez à l'appel à l'action 57 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, qui demande au gouvernement de « s'assurer que les fonctionnaires sont formés sur l'histoire des peuples autochtones, y compris en ce qui a trait à l'histoire et aux séquelles des pensionnats, à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, aux traités et aux droits des Autochtones, au droit autochtone ainsi qu'aux enseignements et aux pratiques autochtones. »

Nouvel outil de travail

  • Politiques gouvernementales et répercussions sur les peuples autochtones au Canada

    Cet outil de travail est une présentation complète des principales politiques et lois qui ont eu une incidence importante sur les nations autochtones du premier contact jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Il retrace les époques qui ont façonné la relation entre la Couronne et les peuples autochtones, en décrivant les principaux intervenants et le contexte dans lequel les lois et les politiques ont été élaborées. L'outil comprend une liste des principales lois et politiques et des liens vers celles‑ci.

Nouvel événement

  • 17 juin 2022 : Série Café virtuel de l'EFPC : Une discussion informelle avec le Dr Alika Lafontaine

    Dans le cadre de cet événement stimulant, le Dr Lafontaine parlera de ce qu'il a ressenti en devenant le premier président autochtone de l'Association médicale canadienne, une institution aussi vieille que le Canada, et de la façon dont ses origines et son éducation ont façonné ses aspirations professionnelles. Il traitera aussi des grandes difficultés auxquelles font face les peuples autochtones au Canada en matière de santé. Inscrivez-vous à cet événement aujourd'hui ou attendez et regardez la vidéo plus tard sur la page YouTube de l'École (pour un temps limité).

Semaine 2

6 au 10 juin

Thème : Environnement

Cette semaine nous mettons l'accent sur l'importance de la consultation dans notre environnement de travail. L'établissement de relations respectueuses avec les intervenants et les partenaires autochtones est une partie essentielle de notre travail en tant que fonctionnaires.

Nouveaux outils de travail

  • Comprendre la consultation et la mobilisation en période de réconciliation

    Cet outil de travail fournit un aperçu complet des obligations juridiques du gouvernement fédéral en matière de consultation des peuples autochtones. Il explique la distinction juridique entre « consultation » et « mobilisation » et explore les contextes dans lesquels chacun de ces termes est plus approprié. L'outil traite aussi d'aspects importants qui doivent être pris en compte lors d'une consultation, comme l'honneur de la Couronne et les mesures d'accommodement. Enfin, l'outil comprend des ressources clés pour les personnes qui souhaitent obtenir plus d'informations ou effectuer un suivi sur des politiques et des approches pangouvernementales précises en matière de consultation.

  • Le sentier de la réconciliation

    Faites partie du changement en participant activement à la réconciliation! Cet outil de travail interactif offre des ressources et des idées pratiques sur la façon de participer activement au processus de réconciliation. Les apprenants peuvent suivre leurs réalisations et tenir un journal de leurs progrès et de leurs objectifs. C'est un excellent outil si vous voulez vous engager de manière significative dans la réconciliation. Faites connaître cet outil à vos collègues pour multiplier votre incidence.

Enregistrement d'événement nouvellement disponibles

  • Renforcer les relations avec les peuples autochtones grâce au processus de consultation et d'accommodement, présenté en partenariat avec Services aux Autochtones Canada

    Cet événement réunira des représentants et représentantes de communautés autochtones de partout au pays, qui nous feront part de leurs connaissances et de leurs idées sur l'importance du processus de consultation et d'accommodement pour renforcer les relations entre le gouvernement du Canada et les peuples autochtones. Les panélistes discuteront de la façon dont une consultation juste et équitable peut mener à l'autodétermination des communautés autochtones et aider à l'établissement de relations solides, durables et mutuellement avantageuses.

Semaine 1

30 mai au 3 juin

Thème : Langues et cultures autochtones

Cette semaine, nous souhaitons reconnaître l'importance des langues et des cultures autochtones au Canada. Découvrez nos nouveaux enregistrements d'événements sur le sujet.

Enregistrement d'événement nouvellement disponibles

  • Soulignons le jour de Louis Riel : réalités métisses (vidéo)

    Si vous avez manqué l'événement de la Journée Louis Riel de cette année ou si vous voulez le revoir, voici votre chance. Découvrez les occasions et les défis qui se présentent aux communautés métisses alors qu'elles établissent des relations constructives et soutiennent les efforts de réconciliation avec les autres peuples autochtones.

Consultez le catalogue complet des événements de l'École.


Date de modification :